7 chakra symbols 1210x423 - Spinning Wheels Of Energy In Your Body

The Chakra System

In this blog post, we focus on the Chakra system and how it is interconnected to all the aspects of your physical and metaphysical bodies aspects of the human body. What many people don’t realise is that apart from the seven main Chakras that run in alignment, within our body, we have an additional one hundred and fourteen smaller Chakras scattered throughout our physical form. But that is a blog for another day.

In Sanskrit, the word or term Chakra means “wheel”. In the science of Ayurveda chakras are considered as rotating spheres or vortexes of energy that run along the spinal column, affecting various aspects of our physical and metaphysical bodies, and influencing particular conditions or illnesses that are related to them in a certain manner, and in so doing we can hopefully create a deeper understanding of how the mind-body connection exists,

Ideally, it should also create a deeper understanding of how imbalances in the mind connect to those in the body.

For example, if you constantly plagued by a sore throat, this could directly be related to any issues pertaining to the throat chakra, headaches could well be a sign that you are suffering an imbalance in your third eye chakra. Issues of a menstrual nature could, in turn, be related to sacral chakra problems or conditions.

That being said, let’s take a moment to explore the basic mind-body connection and how the chakras influence it.

What Are The Chakras?

Over the duration of all our blogs, we have introduced you to a number of Sanskrit terms and phrases, Terms like Koshas, Doshas, Mantra Prana etc. However out of the terms, we have educated you on, Chakra was probably the most familiar to you. Your familiarity with the word is primarily because of its abundant usage in modern day literature, yoga classes and spiritual texts.

As mentioned earlier the seven main chakras are seven spinning wheels or vortexes of energy that are situated roughly along the spinal column. They are located from the top of the head down to the tailbone or coccyx.

Each Chakra is related to a particular functional energy, much like each kosha (although there are only five koshas.)

In fact, the chakras and the koshas are inherently related but we will discuss this fact in greater detail; in our forthcoming series of blog posts where we will continue to discuss the chakras in detail.

The Chakras

As previously mentioned you have within your body seven main Chakras or Vortexes Of Energy.
Starting with the base or root Chakra they are classified as follows:

Muladhara (root chakra)
Svadhisthana (sacral chakra),
Manipura (solar plexus chakra),
Anahata (heart chakra)
Vishuddha (throat chakra)
Ajna (third eye chakra)
Sahasrara (crown chakra)

Each of your bodily chakras is affiliated with a particular function and resides in a specific location within your body. They all relate and respond to various locations and centres within the body and collaborate and correspond to certain symbols, colours, mantras, elements, and more.

In our next series of blog posts, we will be discussing how physical pain can be related to unbalanced an Chakra and the various Ayurvedic ways and techniques for balancing your Chakras,